TERMS     PRIVACY POLICY

Family Support Links  

TO REPORT CHILD ABUSE IN INDIANA CALL 1-800-800-5556

Being a parent or caregiver isn't easy. Everyone has had a moment where they needed support, or sought more information on a parenting topic - and you don't need to be an expert to offer the following to someone:  

  

  • Form positive relationships with parents
  • Be alert to signs of stress
  • Participate and offer parent education/support groups

  

Below are links to other web sites you may find useful. The links are divided into categories, and some sites may appear in more than one category.

–––––——————————————————————  

Fun/Informational Sites For Kids-Recommended By Mrs. McVey's 5th Grade Class

Safe Kids:  Online Safety Quiz for Kids

DLTK's Growing Together:  Crafts for Kids-Safety Ideas

Voice Nation Live:  A Call to Stop Bullying

Cheap Car Insurance:  School Bus Safety for Parents & Kids

Legal Match:  Learn at Home: A Listing of Government Agency Pages for Kids

Safety at Home and School for Kids:  123devis.com/a/safety-home-school-kids/

____________________________________________

Advocacy

American Bar Association Center on Children and the Law: americanbar.org

American Professional Society on the Abuse of Children: apsac.org

Childhelp USA: childhelpusa.org

Child Trauma Programs: childtrauma.org

Child Welfare: childwelfare.com

Children's Defense Fund: childrensdefense.org

Father Flanagan's Boys Home: boystown.org

National Association for Child Advocates: childadvocacy.org 

National Association for Regulatory Administration: naralicensing.org.org

National Coalition for the Homeless: nationalhomeless.org 

The Portage Project: portageproject.org

Prevent Child Abuse America: preventchildabuse.org

–––––——————————————————————

Child Care 

Child Care and Early Education Research Connections: researchconnections.org

National Child Care Connection: nationalchildcareconnection.com

National Resource Center for Health and Safety in Child Care: nrckids.org 

————————–———————–—————————

Child Development 

Baby Center: babycenter.com

The Brazelton Institute: brazelton-institute.com 

Brazelton Touchpoints Center: touchpoints.org 

Children, Youth and Family Consortium: cyfc.umn.edu

Connect for Kids: connectforkids.org

Early Childhood Research and Practice: ecrp.uiuc.edu

The Early Head Start National Resource Center: ehsnrc.org

Indiana Center on Early Childhood Development: inchildren.org 

Kids Health: kidshealth.org

National Center for Early Development and Learning: fpg.unc.edu/ncedl

National Network for Child Care: nncc.org

ParentSoup: parentsoup.com

The Portage Project: portageproject.org

St. Vincent Hospital: peytonmanning.stvincent.org 

Zero to Three: zerotothree.org

————————–———————–—————————  

Child Education

Early Childhood Research and Practice: ecrp.uiuc.edu 

IDEA: Individuals with Disabilities Education Act: ideapractices.org 

Indiana Department of Education: doe.state.in.us 

National Association for the Education of Young Children: naeyc.org 

National Center for Early Development and Learning: fpg.unc.edu/ncedl 

National Parent Information Network: npin.org

Public Broadcasting System: pbs.org/wholechild   

————————–———————–—————————   

Child Health

American Academy of Pediatrics: aap.org 

Indiana Center on Early Childhood Development: inchildren.org 

Insure Kids Now insure: kidsnow.gov 

Kids Health: kidshealth.org 

KidSource Online: kidsource.com 

American Childhood Cancer Organization: acco.org

Mesothelioma Group:  mesotheliomagroup.com

Maternal and Child Health Bureau: cdc.gov/health/maternal.htm 

Mayo's Pregnancy & Children's Health Resource Center: mayoclinic.com

National Network for Child Care: nncc.org 

The National Parenting Center (TNPC): tnpc.com 

National Sudden Infant Death Syndrome Resource: sidscenter.org 

Parent's Place - The Parenting Resource Center on the Web: parentsplace.com 

Riley Child Development Center: child-dev.com 

Riley Hospital for Children: rileyhospital.org 

SIDS Network - a world of information and support: sids-network.org 

St. Vincent Hospital: peytonmanning.stvincent.org 

The Surgeon General's Report on Mental Health: surgeongeneral.gov 

Informative Guide to Childrens Safety Resources forensicnursing.org/resources/an-informative-guide-to-childrens-safety-resources/ 

Other Supporting Resources:  Parenting with a Mental Illness: Programs and Resources (PDF) 

 ————————–———————–—————————  

Children with Special Needs 

Beach Center on Families and Disability: beachcenter.org 

Culturally & Linguistically Appropriate Services: clas.uiuc.edu 

Exceptional Parent: eparent.com 

Family Village: familyvillage.wisc.edu 

Family Voices: familyvoices.org 

IDEA: Individuals with Disabilities Education Act: ideapractices.org 

Indiana Governor's Planning Council for People with Disabilities: state.in.us/gpcpd 

Indiana Institute on Disability and Community: iidc.indiana.edu 

Let Them Play!: lekotek.org 

National Fathers' Network: fathersnetwork.org 

————————–———————–—————————

Early Intervention 

Culturally & Linguistically Appropriate Services: clas.uiuc.edu 

The Early Head Start National Resource Center: ehsnrc.org 

FSSA First Steps: state.in.us/fssa/first_step 

————————–———————–—————————

Fatherhood 

The Fatherhood Project: fatherhoodproject.org 

Father Work: fatherwork.byu.edu 

National Fathers' Network: fathersnetwork.org 

Newdads.com - This online boot camp for new dads is a resoufor first-time fathers with specific advice on taking care of your baby or toddler.

Keepkidshealthy.com - This web site supplies you with resources that will assist you from birth to adolescence, including parenting tips on hot topics such as bed-wetting, discipline, potty training and sleeping habits.

Itsmylife.com   - This site allows you to create a legal will online for a nominal fee.  

  

————————–———————–—————————  

Maternal Health 

Baby Place: baby-place.com 

Baby Zone: babyzone.com 

Kids Health: kidshealth.org 

Le Leche League International: lalecheleague.org 

Maternal and Child Health Bureau: cdc.gov/health/maternal.htm 

Mayo's Pregnancy & Children's Health Resource Center: mayoclinic.com 

NeoFight: neofight.org 

Parent's Place - The Parenting Resource Center on the Web: parentsplace.com 

St. Vincent Hospital: peytonmanning.stvincent.org 

The Surgeon General's Report on Mental Health: surgeongeneral.gov 

————————–———————–—————————  

National Resources 

American Academy of Pediatrics: aap.org 

American Bar Association Center on Children and the Law: abanet.org 

American Professional Society on the Abuse of Children: apsac.org 

American Public Human Services Association: aphsa.org 

Big Brothers/Big Sisters of America: bbbsa.org 

Childhelp USA: childhelpusa.org 

Child Welfare: childwelfare.com 

Children's Defense Fund: childrensdefense.org 

Family Support America: familysupportamerica.org 

Grandparent Information Center: aarp.org 

Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA): hrsa.gov 

Insure Kids Now: insurekidsnow.gov 

National Association for Child Advocates: childadvocacy.org 

National Association for Regulatory Administration: naralicensing.org 

National Association for the Education of Young Children: naeyc.org 

National Center for Early Development and Learning: fpg.unc.edu 

National Child Care Information Center: nccic.org 

The National Clearinghouse on Families and Youth: ncfy.com 

National Network for Child Care: nncc.org 

National Resource Center for Health and Safety in Child Care: www.nrckids.org 

National Sudden Infant Death Syndrome Resource: sidscenter.org 

Prevent Child Abuse America: preventchildabuse.org 

The Surgeon General's Report on Mental Health: surgeongeneral.gov 

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services: aspe.os.dhhs.gov 

———————–———————–—————————

Parent Education 

Prepare Tomorrow's Parents: preparetomorrowsparents.org

Baby Center: babycenter.com 

BabyOnline: babyonline.com 

Brazelton Touchpoints Center: touchpoints.org 

Center for the Improvement of Child Caring: ciccparenting.org 

Child Trends: childtrends.org 

Children, Youth and Family Consortium: cyfc.umn.edu 

Connect for Kids: connectforkids.org 

Exceptional Parent: eparent.com 

Family: family.com 

Father Flanagan's Boys Home: boystown.org 

Indiana Center on Early Childhood Development: inchildren.org 

The National Clearinghouse on Families and Youth: ncfy.com 

The National Parenting Center (TNPC): tnpc.com 

National Parent Information Network: npin.org 

The Natural Child Project: naturalchild.com 

Parent's Place - The Parenting Resource Center on the Web: parentsplace.com 

Parenting on the Go: mentor-media.com 

ParentSoup: parentsoup.com 

Public Broadcasting System: pbs.org/wholechild 

Zero to Three: zerotothree.org 

————————–———————–—————————

Parent Support 

Beach Center on Families and Disability: beachcenter.org 

Center for the Improvement of Child Caring: ciccparenting.org 

Exceptional Parent: eparent.com 

Family Village: familyvillage.wisc.edu 

Family Voices: familyvoices.org 

The Fatherhood Project: fatherhoodproject.org 

Family Support America: familysupportamerica.org 

Grandparent Information Center: aarp.org 

The Institute for Family-Centered Care: familycenteredcare.org 

NeoFight: neofight.org 

____________________________________________

Other

Online Math Classes:  onlinecourses.com/math/

Online Humanities Classes:  onlinecourses.com/humanities/

Online Language Classes:  onlinecourses.com/language/

Online Science Classes:  onlinecourses.com/science/

Online Writing Classes:  onlinecourses.com/writing/

 

 

Copyright © 2011 Prevent Child Abuse Indiana, A Division of The Villages  

Child Behavior Help
Read More Parenting Articles »
Follow Empowering ParentsParenting Advice on FacebookFree Parenting Newsletter
Get this widget